Seasonal farm workers are
protected by New Jersey’s

wage and hour laws

This publication gives an overview of laws that
protect farm workers. These laws are enforced
by the New Jersey Department of Labor and
Workforce Development. We do not investigate
the legal status of any worker who contacts us. We
do not share information with Immigration. New
Jersey labor laws protect all workers in this state,
regardless of legal status.

The NJ Seasonal Farm Labor Act

allows us to enter public or private property:
# to see if there is a camp subject to the law

# to inspect all camps and all living areas and
all equipment connected with farm work

# to inspect the land next to the camp to
determine if it complies with sanitary
laws and other requirements.

The NJ Crew Leader
Registration Act

¢ requires farm crew leaders to register with
the Center for Workforce and Economic
Development at Cumberland County College
in Vineland.

¢ sets forth penalties for violations.

Duties of Crew Leaders
By law, crew leaders must:

¢ keep record of farm workers’ names, work
hours, workplaces, and any pay or other
com pensation, and related details

¢ tell farm workers when they are recruited
* where they will be working
* what crops and operations are involved

* what transportation, housing and insurance
are provided

* rate of pay

* how much the crew leader charges for
their services

¢ always display the terms of employment, and
offer a copy of it to each seasonal farm worker.

Shelter Requirements

Every camp must provide places to sleep that

are in sound structural condition. Farm workers
must be sheltered from the elements and ground
dampness, and protected from fire hazards. Sleeping
areas must be clean and free from vermin and

any infectious or contagious matter. The grounds
around sleeping areas must be properly drained and
free from accumulations of dirt and garbage.

Drinking Water & Toilet Facilities

By law, farms with 10 or fewer workers in the field
must:

# provide clean drinking water in the fields.
Water must not be more than 60° F (15.5° C).

¢ provide clean, private toilet facilities in the
working area, unless there are toilets within
500 feet,152 meters, 5 minutes’ walking time,
or 5 minutes’ driving time of the working area.
Male and female facilities must be separate.
One seat must be provided for every 20 men or
women. Toilets must be supplied with adequate
toilet paper.

# provide clean bathing facilities.

¢ provide handwashing facilities near toilet
facilities and in the working area. Near means
within 500 feet, 152 meters, 5 minutes’ walking
time, or 5 minutes’ driving time. There are
penalties if a farmer does not comply.

Child Labor

* No minor under age 12 may do farm or
agricultural work.

* A person must be at least |2 years old
to work on a farm. Permitted farm work
includes helping raise livestock; working in
a nursery; using nonpowered hand tools to
rake, shovel, plant; or do “first processing” of
farm products.

* Minors under 16 years of age must obtain a
special agricultural permit. The permit must
state exactly what kind of work the minor
will do, the minor’s work hours, pay, and any
special conditions or work requirements.

* An agricultural permit is valid for only 6
months.

* Minors aged 16 and 17 do not need an
agricultural permit or working paper.

* |2-year-old workers may work no more than
10 hours a day, 6 days a week, outside of
school hours.

* |6-year-old workers may work no more than
10 hours a day, 6 days a week during school
hours.

* Workers under 18 must get a 30-minute meal
or rest break after 5 continuous hours of
work. No exceptions!

* Workers must be 16 to work with conveyor
belts, farm tractors, power lawn mowers,
power woodworking or metal working tools,
or power-driven machinery. Power-driven
machinery does not include agricultural
machines when used on farms, such as
standard type poultry feeders, egg washers,
egg coolers, and milking machines.

The law does not restrict the number of hours that
minors can work directly for their own parents or

legal guardian, in connection with their own home,

outside of school hours.




— IMPORTANT! —

New Jersey Law Says Labor laws that apply to agriculture

. @ NJ Seasonal Farm Labor Act
You must earn at least $12.01 an hour (minimum J © ©

wage) even if you work piece-rate.
@ NJ Crew Leader Registration Act

Effective January |, 2023:

If you work piece-rate  You must earn at least ¢ N]J Drinking Water and Toilet Facilities Act
9 hours a day ......cccccuuuueee. $108.09 a day
8 hours a day ..$96.08 a day ¢ N]J Seasonal Farm Workers Regulations
7 hours a day $ 84.07 a day
6 hours a day .......cccveueeee. $ 72.06 a day ¢ NJ Child Labor Laws (regarding hours,
5 hours a day .-$ 60.05 a day prohibited occupations, and working papers)

4 hours a day
3 hours a day
2 hours a day ....cccceeeeeunee $ 24.02 a day
| hour a day .....cccoeuvcuveueenee $ 12.01 a day

...$ 48.04 a day d t
$36.03 2 day ¢ USDOL Migrant Seasonal Protection Act nee o
o know about
If you receive less than these wages, or if you want ’
more information, call 609-984-3004
or e-mail wage.hour@dol.nj.gov N ew jersey s

or fax 609-984-1279

labor laws

Division of Wage and Hour Compliance
New Jersey Department of Labor and
Workforce Development

PO Box 389

Trenton, NJ 08625-0389

Note: We do not investigate the legal status of
any worker who contacts us. We do not share
information with Immigration. New Jersey labor
laws protect all workers in this state, regardless of
legal status.

Notificacion: No investigamos el estado legal

de ningun trabajador, o ninguna trabajadora, que

se comunique con nosotros. No compartimos
informacion con ‘la migra’ (Inmigracion). Las leyes
laborales del Estado de New Jersey protegen a
todos los trabajadores y a todas las trabajadoras en
este estado, sin importar su estado legal.

nj.gov/labor
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